End of Semester Thoughts

Still here. The semester’s end is fast approaching, and as I think of the end of the school year, I think also of the beginning of the next one. Goals for next semester – better incorporate critical thinking into my courses. To do that, I want to use more primary sources and Journal articles for analysis. In the introductory survey courses, less controversy, more historical analysis with heavy reliance on primary sources, which can then become both an example of the importance and use of evidence, and provide a solid foundation for classroom analytical activities. Students need to be encouraged to write more, but I also want to take notice of newer technology if I can find a way to adequately evaluate computer and video presentations among other things. This might encourage more students to become active in the process of learning by helping them to use their own natural learning abilities.

Comments are closed.